Speaking English at Work.

On Monday I was at work. A man who is actively involved in the local German expat community came in with his wife and some young relatives visiting from Germany. I like the man and his wife, and since I’ve never met them before I had no opinion on his relatives. I offered to give them a speech/demonstation on/of Miwok artefacts. I’m used to dealing and working with mostly English-speaking American visitors, so I’ve never given the demonstation in anything but English. He, the the man asked me to give the demonstation in German — something I declined to do on the grounds that frequently visitors join in later on. He was dis-appointed, but I held firm my ground. Probably 90 seconds into the demonstation a man visiting from Sacramento and his young daughter joined in. Neither one could speak or understand German.

Leave a Reply

